Library Loot: End of October-Early November

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I’m back to blogging, I hope.  I have survived a month of too much programming at the library and levy campaigning.  I’m happy to report that our levy passed, soundly — 70% for and 30% against.  Hopefully we’ll be able to convert some of that 30% before the renewal in five years…but I’m not going to think about that for now. :)  Here is what I checked out during those crazy weeks:

Currently Reading: The Indigo Notebook by Laura Resau
Current Checkouts: 42
Current Holds: 8

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Library Loot: End of October-Early November

  1. Anastasia says:

    I tried reading Frank Beddor’s Wonderland books before, but I couldn’t get past the first 20 pages. Do you think I’d have a better time with a graphic novel? (Do I need to read the other books first in order to understand that one?)

    Also, I was feeling ashamed at having around 20 books checked out– you make me feel much better with your 42. :D
    .-= Anastasia´s last blog ..Book Trailer Tuesday: The Strain =-.

    • Casey says:

      I haven’t read the Wonderland books. I had the first one checked out forever and never got around to it. I had heard lukewarm things about it but I have heard wonderful things about the graphic novel. The Children’s Librarian at my branch loved it and heartily endorsed it when he saw I was checking it out. Also, he said that he didn’t even know there was a book version when he picked up the graphic novel and had no trouble, so I don’t think you would have to have read the books to know what’s going on. Sadly, I haven’t read it yet so I can’t give my opinion yet but I would say you should give it a shot. The illustrations, at least, are gorgeous.

      I just can’t help myself when it comes to checking out but I’m trying to get better! :)

  2. Doret says:

    I’ve been in a little slump. My last 3 books have not been good. Not taking any chances the next book I pick up will be Gaiman’s new middle grade novel.

    Enjoy the books.
    .-= Doret´s last blog ..Long Shot. Chris Paul Frank Morrison =-.

    • Casey says:

      I hate when that happens! I didn’t know Gaiman had a new book out. What’s it called and what’s it about? Did you know I have yet to read a Gaiman book! It is shocking and sad since I know he’s amazing. I at least want to get around to reading The Graveyard Book.

  3. Doret says:

    I haven’t read any of Gaiman’s adult novel. The new book is Odd and the Frost Gaints. It’s younger MG, adventure story.

    My slump might be over, though I picked up another book. I won’t say what it is because I don’t want to jink it.
    .-= Doret´s last blog ..Let Freedom Sing Vanessa Newton =-.

    • Casey says:

      Odd and the Frost Giants looks cute, but I’m guessing it’s not what broke your bad book streak. I’ll be interested to hear what the slump-breaker is!

Leave a Reply

