National Book Award Finalists, 2009

The finalists have been announced.  Here’s the list of finalists for Young People’s Literature:

I’m a bit surprised.  At least last year there were a few that I expected, this year not a one.  I’m familiar with most of the titles and I’ve heard good things about Charles and Emma but still not one that I would call a standout of the year, at least as far as buzz is concerned.  Despite my surprise, I’m definitely interested in getting to know some of these books.  I’ve put a couple on hold already.

Anyone else have any thoughts on the list?

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to National Book Award Finalists, 2009

  1. Ladytink_534 says:

    I’ve heard lots of good things about Stitches! However the rest of these are new to me. Wonder how these were decided on…?
    .-= Ladytink_534´s last blog ..What’s Cooking Good Looking? =-.

    • Casey says:

      I’m not sure about how the decision is made but the books that are considered are nominated by the publisher. I’ve heard good things about Stitches as well but it’s stirring up some controversy as a part of the YP category since it was actually published as an adult book. I’m going to try to read as many of these titles as I can and see what I think.

  2. Doret says:

    I loved Jumped. Very happy to see it here. I’ve already added Claudette Colvin to my library queue. I do plan to check out the others. I’ve heard very good about Lips Touch.

    • Casey says:

      I’ve also heard good things about Lips Touch but my library doesn’t own it yet. I’m hoping it’s nomination will prompt us to buy it. I just checked out Jumped and I also have Claudette Colvin on hold. Both look good so I’m looking forward to reading them.

Leave a Reply

