Library Loot: August 5-11

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Here’s what I checked out this week:

  • Alibi Junior High by Greg Logsted (an upper middle grade novel, it was on display and the cover kept catching my eye to the point where I decided I had to have it!)
  • Nothing but Ghosts by Beth Kephart (after a booktalk by a colleague; she Alibi Junior Highconvinced me!)
  • No Shame, No Fear by Ann Turnbull (came up in my modern classics discussion as one of fellow teen librarian’s favs)
  • Sabriel by Garth Nix (another modern classic recommendation)
  • Immortal by Gillian Shields (but may not read because of negative reviews)

And my recheck outs:

I also received a book for review:

Currently Reading: Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford and I should be reading American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld for my bookclub.  I’ve really been in the mood for a good fantasy romance but I’m not in the mood for vampires or fairies (or I would finally be reading Lament).  Any suggestions?
Current Checkouts: 60
Current Holds: 7

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Library Loot: August 5-11

  1. Samantha says:

    I can’t say that I have any recommendations off of the top of my head…but it does look like you found some good reads! enjoy :)

  2. Doret says:

    I want a good boy book. Jack Tumor turned on me like HopperGrass. I feel betrayed. Did you finish Derby Girl? What did you think? I loved Carter Finally Gets it. No suggestions, sorry.

    • Casey says:

      Hmm, good boy books…well, I’m not sure if they’re good yet b/c they’re on my TBR but how about Why I Fight by Oaks (did you read this already…I know I read a review somewhere…) or The Morgue and Me by Ford or Bait by Sanchez or possibly Tales of the Madman Underground by Barnes. None of these would be funny boy book, though, like Carter. I think those are the best.

      I haven’t finished Derby Girl yet. It wasn’t bad I just stopped being in the mood for it…I kinda skipped ahead and read some of the parts so I already know what happens. I have it at work for my lunch break reading so I’m definitely planning on finishing it.

      I’ve picked up a few books this week that fulfill my girly fantasy wishes, so I’m good. :)

  3. Marg says:

    I have read other Garth Nix books and liked them. I have had Sabriel out as well, but had to return it unread. I really need to reborrow it!

    • Casey says:

      So many books, so little time. We’ll see if I get to it before I have to return it! :) I want to but so many other books beaconing…

Leave a Reply

