Library Loot: July 29-August 4

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Not a big loot week, which is probably a good thing.  I’m either learning restraint or my library isn’t getting ton of books I’m interested in.  I’m leaning toward restraint since it makes me feel better about myself. :)  Here’s what I did get:

Currently Reading: Between books and in a reading rut :(
Current Checkouts: 55
Current Holds: 6

P.S. I just found this cool booktrailer for So Punk Rock.

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5yMgm9VWQU]

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Library Loot: July 29-August 4

  1. Doret says:

    I really want to read So Punk Rock
    I went to a different library branch yesterday, the YA selection was better
    I checked out Hopper Grass by Chris Carlton Brown,
    Jack Tumor by Anthony McGowan and
    Gilda Joyce, The Dead Drop

    • Casey says:

      I was interested in So Punk Rock but I’m more excited now that I saw the booktrailer.

      Yeah for better YA selections! I’m not familiar with Hopper Grass, though I recognized the cover when I looked it up just now. I had Jack Tumor out but ended up returning it. I have so many books out and it just seemed a tad too weird for my current tastes. I haven’t forgotten about it, though, because who could forget a book about a talking tumor. I’ll be interested to see what you think of both of those books. I still haven’t gotten around to any Gilda Joyces. Maybe one day.

      As a side note, I finally finished Soul Enchilda. I didn’t love it but I didn’t not like it either. I thought the premise was interesting but the writing felt choppy. Hopefully I’ll post a full review at some point.

  2. Doret says:

    Hopper Grass started off very well but it lost me in the middle. When good storylines turn bad its a sad sad thing. Jack Tumor is really good so far and I think it will stay that way. I loved the author’s last book Hellbent. Soul Enchilda is the type of book I would enjoy, the premise is wonderful I just don’t think the author pulled it off. I don’t think the author wrote a very convicing female protagonist. Another book premise I loved but the book not so much was Crash into Me by Borris. I know there are great reviews floating around for Crash into Me but I think I read a different book.

    • Casey says:

      I’m sorry about Hopper Grass. It’s disappointing to invest time in half a novel only to find it wasn’t worth it in the end.

      I’m not familiar with Hellbent. Jack Tumor was my first intro to the author but I’ll be on the lookout now.

      The premise of Soul Enchilada had tons of potential but your right, the author just didn’t pull it off. I agree about the female protag and I got annoyed with the language–seemed like he was trying too hard.

      I had to take Crash into Me back to the library b/c it had holds but I put myself back on the list for it. Eventually I’ll get it back and read it and let you know what I think. I’ve got to say that I wasn’t so sure about the premise but everyone’s been hyping it b/c of what happened to the author so I thought I’d give it a try. If you like the premise you might be interested in Hollywood Endings by Kathy Charles. Out in Australia in September but not sure when it will be released in US.

  3. Marg says:

    Thanks for participating in Library Loot.

Leave a Reply

