Swoon

Swoonby Nina Malkin

When Dice’s cousin Pen falls out of the big ash tree on the green another being takes up residence with Pen in her body.  Dice is a tad bit psychic, she has episodes, and she can tell Pen isn’t the same as she used to be.  Dice meets the other being in Pen.  His name is Sinclair Youngblood Powers — Sin.  Sin was born in 1751 and was hung from the same ash Pen fell from as punishment for a murder he didn’t commit.  Dice falls a little in love with Sin but she knows she must exorcise him from Pen’s body so Pen can go on living her life as she should.  Dice isn’t sure how to get Sin out of Pen but Sin knows; Sin tells Dice exactly what she should do and Dice trusts him.  Unfortunately, Dice thinks she’s releasing Sin to R.I.P. but Sin has other ideas.  After the ritual is performed, Sin is not gone but now has a body, a human form, and he is determined to get revenge on the ancestors of those people who wronged him so long ago.

Reaction: I just didn’t get it.  There were things I liked.  I liked the writing style.  I liked Dice’s voice when she wasn’t being a bozo over Sin.  I even really liked the premise but in the end I just didn’t get it.  I didn’t understand why Dice was in love with Sin.  I understood her compassion towards his dreadful, sad story.  I understood a physical attraction.  But love?  Um, didn’t feel it.  Sin was a bit of an a-hole and paid little-to-no attention to Dice.  When did she develop love?  Also, I didn’t understand why Sin had to incite such a sexual revolution in the uptight town of Swoon.  I’m not a prude when it comes to sex in teen lit.  I’m ok with it and I think if it was lacking in the genre then the genre would not truly be reflective of teen life, but this sexual frenzy caused by Sin seemed gratuitous.  His ability to persuade people to do whatever he wished or think whatever he wanted them to think was more than enough to accomplish his goals — and would still have gotten him into any girl’s bed.  Just his presence made everyone around him want to have an orgy, even the very old and the very prudish, and I didn’t understand the need for this particular trait.  There was nothing sexual explicit, it was all pretty much suggested, but it did seem as though this book could have made a pretty good starting off point for a pretty steamy adult romance novel.  Like I said, I really did enjoy the writing style and the tidbits on Nina Malkin’s website make me want to like Swoon more than I did, but Swoon just wasn’t for me.  That being said, I’ll definitely be on the lookout for Malkin in the future and I agree with the quote by Karen Marie Moning on the back of the book, Twilight fans will love Swoon because of the forbidden, intense, inexplicable love.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swoon

  1. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the honest review of this one! I’m not a prude either but gratuitous isn’t fun to read.

  2. Liyana says:

    Ahhh, the famous orgy. I’ll definitely have to check this out. ;)

Leave a Reply

