The Awakening

AwakeningThe Darkest Powers
by Kelley Armstrong

The Awakening is the second book in a trilogy.  If you haven’t read the first, The Summoning, then you definitely should.  Oh, and I wouldn’t read this review.  Spoilers galore for those who haven’t read the first.

After mistakenly trusting her Aunt Lauren, Chloe and Rae are taken to the Edison Group’s compound and locked away “for their own safety.”  Chloe is determined to breakout before the Edison Group and their leader, Dr. Davidoff, can do anything to her or Rae, but she is also determined to gather information while she is on the inside.  After a bit of sneaking around and with the help of a ghostly demi-demon, Chloe is able to find out the truth behind the importance of the teens sent to the Lyle House.  The truth is shocking, it leaves Chloe with a huge uncertainty about her and her friends’ futures, and confirms her worst fears, the Edison Group is not above killing teenagers, just like they did Liz and Brady before her.  More determined than ever, Chloe is desperate to escape and meet up with Simon and Derek.  But even if she gets out, where will she and the boys go?  Who will help?  How can they stop the Edison group?

Reaction: I have no idea how this is going to be wrapped up in only one more book (which, according to Kelley’s site, will be called The Reckoning).  It took me awhile to get my bearings since I read the first book a year ago.  Armstrong just throws you right back into the mix, pretty much as if the first book never ended.  Despite the fact that it took me a few chapters to re-orient myself, I really like this method.  No chapters of rehashing, just the story, and you’re back in the action.  Like with the first book, I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to give anything away.  I will say, there is a lot more Chloe and Derek time, which I loved.  They have a lot in common when it comes to their powers — both of them are developing more quickly than they should with pretty much no guidance as to how to control the powers.  I think this commonality will become important in the next book.  Plus, I just like Chloe and Derek together as a team.  I think they mesh very well.  I do see a problem in the future with a possible Derek-Chloe-Simon thing becoming an issue.  I guess we’ll see!  Overall, The Awakening was action-packed.  It is a fight for survival, not only against the Edison Group and the supernatural world but against the real world as well.  The group is constantly moving and constantly facing one kind of adversary or another.  I have no doubt that The Awakening will keep you turning the pages to see what is going to happen next because that is exactly what happened to me!

Other reviews: Check out what Kristi over at The Story Siren has to say about it.  I think she wrote a great review and she touched on things I didn’t think of.






For anyone who has read it already (and if not, SPOILERS AHEAD!):

What do you think of Andrew?  I don’t trust him.  Did you catch that “It’s so great to see you [Tori] and Simon together” thing he said?  What about Chloe and Derek?  I think he’s going to pose a threat to them.  I bet Simon and Derek’s dad didn’t join Andrew because Andrew wants to get rid of Derek, not because it was “too political” for him.  I feel bad because I want the group to have somewhere safe to hideout and have some adults on their side but I don’t believe that Andrew and his group is all he’s divulging them to be.  It’s driving me crazy.  I want to know now what’s going to happen.  I want to know what you think is going to happen!  Leave me a comment with what you think, just remember to mark it as a spoiler.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Awakening

  1. Sab H. says:

    So do you rank the books anywhere? Or recommend any?

    • Casey says:

      I don’t rank. I thought about doing a rating system, like so many out of five, but my opinion on books, besides the basic it was well written or no kind of thing, changes every day. For example, one of my fav. books this year is Perfect Chemistry. It’s not extremely well written so I wouldn’t give it a high rating but it has stuck with me long after I’ve read it. I just don’t think I’m the rating type.

      I do have “My Top Picks” page with my favorite books for the past 2 years. This year’s is still a work in progress. I hope that helps!

  2. lydia says:

    Chloe and Derek HAVE to be together.
    To me, Simon’s nice and all but he’s totally hindering Derek and Chloe’s relationship. It’s getting annoying
    Maybe he and Tori could get together, even if they act like they hate each other.
    I agree with you. I think the only adult they can trust is Derek’s dad.
    I cannot wait for the next one!

    • Casey says:

      I know! I feel the same about Simon. He’s just too nice. They’re both too nice. It wouldn’t work. I thought about him and Tori too but there would have to be some major character adjustments before that would happen and I just don’t see Tori changing that much if she didn’t in this book, but I guess we’ll see.

      I hope they find Derek and Simon’s dad. I’m not convinced he’s alive but it’s so hard to tell.

      I’m ready for some answers so I hope The Reckoning comes out sooner rather than later! :)

  3. Liyana says:

    Great review! I liked reading the spoilers, because I’m getting the book soon, so at least I get an inkling of what’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

