The Secret Life of Prince Charming

Secret Life of Prince Charmingby Deb Caletti

Quinn loves her dad.  She knows he’s not perfect but he’s charismatic, outgoing, fun; it’s hard not to love him.  One thing she can’t deny, he’s a womanizer.  Quinn doesn’t even know all of the women he’s ever been with.  She knows he broke her mother’s heart and left her family — mom, Quinn, and baby sister Sprout — to live with another woman when Quinn was very young.  She knows he now lives with Brie, a woman half his age, and her young son.  Quinn, though, sees only the good.  That is until she begins to notice that some of his treasured possessions have the names of the women he’s left behind attached to them.  A large painting, a sculpture, a music box, and more.  Quinn can’t deny the wrongness of her father having these items or his cold reaction when she asks about them.  Quinn takes a daring step and calls the older half-sister she’s only met once, Frances Lee, and asks her what she thinks Quinn should do.  The call is the beginning of a quest for Quinn, Sprout, and Frances Lee to return the possession their father stole to their rightful owners, all of his past wives and girlfriends.

Reaction: I like this one MUCH better than I did The Nature of Jade.  I liked Quinn.  She wanted, needed her father’s love so much she unknowingly overlooked some of his most horrible traits.  Despite the fact that she put her dad on a pedestal, when it came to her own love life she very much sought someone who was decidedly not like her father.  She looked for someone solid, reliable, dependable, pretty much boring.  As much as she loved her father she did not want to date anyone like her father, but despite all of her best efforts to have the “perfect” boyfriend, it didn’t work out.  I liked Sprout.  She was feisty and, in some ways, much smarter than her older sister.  She was protective of Quinn and saw her father for exactly what he was.  Frances Lee was a hoot.  So different from Quinn and Sprout, moody and harder, but she nicely completed the trio of sisters.

There were still some things I didn’t like.  Well, this first one is something I liked but didn’t like.  Interspersed throughout the story were tales from women on past (bad) relationships, what went wrong, and why.  I liked these but they got to be too much.  There were too many of them and I felt they interrupted the flow of the story.  I was so tempted to skip them by the end.  Also, most of them were by minor characters and sometimes I couldn’t remember who it was telling the story.  Again, I liked them I just wish there had been fewer.  While I loved Jake, I thought his relationship with Quinn kind of defeated all of the love lessons the girls were learning on their trip.  Jake and Quinn were instant attraction with little time to build substance to their relationship.  After just a couple of days they were a solid thing.  I wish this would have been a bit slower to build so it could show that Quinn had maybe learned something from all of the women she’d been talking to.  Finally, I was pretty depressed that (I think) only two of the six or seven past girlfriends found stable relationships.  There were so few examples of good, healthy relationships between men and women.  Is this really what the world as come to today?

Overall, I thought The Secret Life of Prince Charming was very well done.  I was hooked.  Despite my enjoyment of Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott, which has a similar plot, I think I enjoyed The Secret Life a bit better.  I thought it dove a bit deeper into the absent parent issue, but as hot as Jake was I think I’m still all about Finn. :)

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Secret Life of Prince Charming

  1. Hmmm…. the title pulled me in, and I think I might try it out. Sounds good.

  2. Liyana says:

    Sounds nice and different. Especially since the Prince Charming in question is the MC’s dad.

  3. Pingback: The Secret Life Of Prince Charming « Libr*fiti

Leave a Reply

