Dead and Gone

Dead and GoneA Sookie Stackhouse Novel
by Charlaine Harris

If you’ve never read a Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire book, I warn you not to read any further but to pick up the first book in the series, Dead Until Dark, and begin there.

Sookie’s in for another wild ride.  The Weres are going public, her soon-to-be-ex-sister-in-law is found crucified behind Sookie’s place of work, and there is a war brewing in the fairy world that has spilled over into the human world.  Of course Sookie also has the confusing task of sorting through her feelings for the men in her life.  At the moment, she’s trying to decide whether what she’s feeling for Eric is real or because of their blood bond.  Sookie certainly has a full plate.

Reaction: I once again finished with the need to find out what’s next, and I honestly have no clues.  As in From Dead to Worse, there is a sense of closure for some of the story-lines.  One of the main things that remains open is with whom Sookie will chose to actually have a steady relationship.  I am cheering for Team Eric but I am still skeptical as to how this would logistically work.  Quinn made an appearance.  Bill is ever-present and possibly still in the running if the ending is of any indication, though Sookie would be dumb not to give Eric a chance to explain — you will have to read to see what I mean.  And Sam’s name always gets thrown into the mix.  The end also finds Sookie recovering from, in my opinion, the worst thing that has ever happened to her, and we all know she’s already been through a lot.  I will be interested to see how the experience changes her, if at all.  Like I said, I have absolutely no idea what is next in store for Sookie but I can’t wait to find out!

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

