Amaranth Enchantment

Amaranth Enchantmentby Julie Berry

Lucinda’s parents died in a carriage accident and left her orphaned.  Now she lives with her kind uncle and evil aunt, working like a slave in their jewelry shop.  One day a witch, a prince, and a thief enter the store and change her life forever.

Reaction: Cute but not great.  Basically, The  Amaranth Enchantment is a retelling of Cinderella with a few different twists.  This is fine, I like Cinderella, but not what I was expecting.  I found Lucinda a bit immature and because of that it was really hard for me to get into the romantic elements.  She just seemed way too young for anything more than a crush and her “love” for the prince seemed very superficial.  I’m also not sure I really liked all of the characters.  I suppose I could go on but I’ll stop.  Like I said, it was cute and I think it will have appeal to younger readers (I’m thinking of taking it when I booktalk to 6th graders) but I was a bit disappointed.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

