Library Loot: April 22-28

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

This week wasn’t nearly as big as last week.  Here’s what I checked out:

Forest of Hands and TeethMy re-checkouts:

I currently have 61 checkouts and 14 holds.  I did a big clean-out this week and took back books I didn’t think I was going to read in the near future.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Library Loot: April 22-28

  1. dsuzuki says:

    Wow, that’s quite a number of books you have checked out. I just borrowed and finished The Forest of Hands and Teeth from the library. You’re lucky you can put in so many requests. Our library maxes you out at 10.

    • Casey says:

      I know. It’s a bit much but I can’t stop! :) We’re allowed up to 25 holds and I’ve never hit that limit. Usually I don’t have so many but I’m prepping for some booktalks and a couple of the books have wait lists.

      Did you enjoy The Forest of Hands and Teeth?

  2. Doret says:

    How many books can you check out at once? Got four books from the library today. I’ve recently discovered I could place holds on books online. Its too easy and I can’t stop myself. The Forest of Hands and Teeth is in my short pile

    • Casey says:

      For regular borrower cards, checkouts are unlimited; Educator cards for teachers are limited to 150. While I am certainly in a minority for the number I check out, I have plenty of company. We have some borrowers who regularly keep over 100 items out at a time. My limit for myself used to be 40, but I don’t seem to be able to do that very often anymore.

      Online holds are awesome. We also have an RSS for Teen Fiction New Arrivals. I am always checking it for new stuff. I don’t want to wait and be far down on the holds list. :)

      A fellow librarian just did a mini booktalk on The Forest of Hands and Teeth that made me more excited to read it, unfortunately I think it’s going to fall down the pile because I have a ton of reading to do to prepare for upcoming booktalks and Summer Reading Club promotions.

Leave a Reply

