Library Loot: April 15-21, 2009

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I had another big library week.  Here’s what I checked out:

Tiger Moon

Also, there were my recheckouts:

  • Tiger Moon by Antonia Michaelis
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (I think this is my 3rd or 4th time for this one.  We’ll see if I get around to actually reading it this time!)

Finally, some more possibilities for my Africa and the Apartheid booktalks next month:

I thought some of you may be interested to know my current total checkouts, since I take home a ton but read so few! :)  Anyway, I currently have 64 items checkout and 16 items on hold that haven’t come in yet.

**Update:  I just realized I had originally titled this post “Library Loo”.  LOL.  This is not a post about Library bathrooms!**

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Library Loot: April 15-21, 2009

  1. susan says:

    I’ve read Out of Bounds by Naidoo. It’s very good. Glad to see these listed. Will have to look for it at my library. I think we own the Farmer book. Second time I’ve seen it mentioned recently. Maybe I need to check it out.

    I love Gaiman’s books. They can be long though. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend listening to him on audio. He has a great storyteller voice. And I was no audio fan prior to listening to Gaiman.

    • Casey says:

      I will definitely have to check out his audiobooks. I’m sad to say I haven’t read anything by him before despite all of the good things I’ve heard. Audiobooks might help me actually get around to reading his works.

  2. Doret says:

    The Reformed Vampire Support Group just came into the bookstore I work at. Everyone who reads YA was attracted to the cover. I’ve never read Naidoo but that Burn My Heart cover is very nice. Do you get these books from the public library?

    • Casey says:

      I know, the cover is pretty awesome which is why I’m shocked that it hasn’t been checked out yet @ my library. I’ve had it on display all week and no one’s taken it. I even took it to the high school book club; interest but no takers. I, for one, am looking forward to reading it! :)

      Yep, all from the library. We’re a large system (41 branches) and the main branch is huge with one of the largest YA collections in the country. We get and keep lots of books!

  3. Eva says:

    Those all sound like so much fun! I need to get back into reading YA lit this year. :D

  4. I actually just bought The Reformed Vampire Support Group. Doesn’t it look adorable??

    I really want to read The Secret Life of Prince Charming, as I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

    -Lauren

    • Casey says:

      It looks awesome! Hope the story line is as good as the cover. :) I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you think of it.

      I am not a huge fan of Caletti but The Secret Life looks really cute.

Leave a Reply

