The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxyby Douglas Adams

Hmm, how to go about summarizing this book…Arthur Dent thought his day was going to be bad when he woke up to bulldozers about to down his house.  What his friend Ford Prefect knows is that his about-to-be-demolished house is the least of Arthur’s worries.  Ford may mostly look human but he’s not.  He has been stuck on Earth for 15 years, posing as an out-of-work actor as he researches for the travel book The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  What Ford knows, because of all of his fancy, un-Earthly equipment, is that the Earth is about to be demolished and if he and Arthur don’t hitch a ride off Earth soon they will be demolished with it.  With a stroke of luck, Ford and Arthur arrive safely aboard the spaceship doing the demolishing and strike out on an unlikely adventure in outer space.

Reaction: Hitchhiker’s Guide was a lot easier and faster read than I expected it to be but, while I did enjoy it, I didn’t connect with it in the same way many of its followers have seemed to.  I can totally understand why it would have such a cult following.  The writing was great, it was funny, it was off-the-wall but relatable, but it just didn’t do much for me.  I am very glad I read it, though!  I don’t think there’s much more to say other than it is one of those you just have to read to believe.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

  1. Liyana says:

    Hasn’t this book been around forever? And I still haven’t read it. Hmm, I’ll try to pick this up if I remember.

Leave a Reply

