2009 Printz Winner and Honors

Today the 2009 ALA Youth Media Awards were announced including the Printz winner and honors.  Since the winner and one of the honors is up for a Cybil in the Young Adult Fiction category, of which I’m a judge, I must remain mum on my feelings regarding these titles so I thought that I would connect you to some other wonderful bloggers’ reviews of the books.  Without any further ado, the 2009 Printz titles are:

Winner:

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (review by Trisha @ the Ya Ya Yas)

Honors:

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart (review by Bookshelves of Doom)

Nation by Terry Pratchett (review from Guys Lit Wire)

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan (review by Reading Rants!)

The Astonishing Live of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II by M.T. Anderson (um, no review because I couldn’t find one on any of my normal channels — i.e. my trusted sources, so check it out on Amazon)

For a full list of all the Youth Media Award winners, click here.  My highlights — Yeah for Graveyard Book (Newbery winner) and Savvy (Newbery honor), neither of which I’ve read yet but both of which I’ve heard awesome things about and hope to convince the teachers of the fledgling middle school bookclub to choose as bookclub selections, and yeah Curse as Dark as Gold as the first Morris Award winner.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2009 Printz Winner and Honors

  1. Doret says:

    I’ve read three of the Printz. There was a lot of very good young adult literature this year.

  2. bookworm4life says:

    Which ones did you read? I know Jellicoe Road. I have sadly, only read Jellicoe Road. I’ve heard great things about Tender Morsels but it seems really dense and really sad.

  3. Doret says:

    I read The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by Lockhart. I enjoyed it.
    Also Nation by Pratchett. My first book by that author, and I really enjoyed it.
    And of course Jellicoe Road, which I loved

Leave a Reply

