Splurge

Thanks to some very generous relatives who gave me bookstore gift certificates for Christmas (Thank you!  Thank you!), I just indulged myself in some book buying, something I rarely do since I am in love with the library (and not rich enough to buy all the books I want).  I just bought Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston because of this and because the cover is gorgeous.  I also bought Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Darkside by Beth Fantaskey.  I went to the store intending to buy W.S. and Lament by Maggie Stiefvater but they didn’t have Lament (sigh).  I was so hyped about buying two books that when I saw Jessica’s Guide, I couldn’t help myself.  I’m a little wary. I haven’t really liked any of the new vampire books that came out this year because it seems as though authors are churning them out simply to capitalize on the Twilight phenomenon but I needed something light, fun, and a little romantic to combat the WWII blues.  Now, though, I am going to have to also buy Lament.  After seeing it on best of 2008 lists and reading the reviews on Amazon, I don’t see how I will be able to resist buying it!  Can I just say, though, what is with Lament’s cover?  Am I the only one who thinks it’s horrible?  Is it a good representation of the story?  One review on Amazon talked about the book’s humor but from that cover I thought it was going to be a depressing, tear-jerker.  Anyway, I’m excited to dig into my purchases!  I’m looking forward to ringing in the New Year by sitting on my couch and reading all day long.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in General Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Splurge

  1. I happen to know this nice author who might be inclined to send you a copy of LAMENT if you shoot her an e-mail with your mailing address! :D

Leave a Reply

