Shadow Kiss: A Vampire Academy Novel

Shadow Kissby Richelle Mead

So, I’m not really going to describe what’s happened in this novel seeing how it’s book three and so much hinges on what has happened in books one and two.  Just know, the story continues to build.  The Strigoi are becoming a bigger and more puzzling threat that will definitely add to the action and suspense in future installments.  More elements of the special bond between Rose and Lissa will come to light, with some frightening consequences for Rose.  Of course, the relationships (or lack-there-of) between Rose and Dimitri and Lissa and Christian keep things interesting, and adding the element of Adrian, the spoiled royal Moroi who is also a Spirit practicer, has consequences on both relationships.  Plus, there is a HUGE ending…and you’ll just have to read the book to find out!

Reaction: When I started the book, I was really excited.  I had been waiting for this for what seemed like forever though it was only a matter of months.  Then, about 200-250 pages in, I started getting impatient and a little annoyed.  There didn’t seem to be much development.  Little things, sure, and now that I have read the whole things I realize how essential many of these little things were to the story as a whole and also how they could potentially be important in the future, but I was beginning to feel like this book was just going to rehash things I already understood–Rose’s devotion to Lissa but the scary consequences of their bond and the fact that Rose may never have her own life; Rose’s frustration over her relationship with Dimitri; Lissa’s need to practice Spirit despite the many negative consequences; etc.  Once I hit page 335, though, it was full throttle to the end.  WOW!  Let me say this, I cried like a little baby with snot and all.  I have become very emotionally invested in these characters, mainly Rose, and she has gone through so much hurt already…but there is so much more to come.  Despite how I was saddened by parts of the end, I was also heartily relieved by other parts and very glad to see the quest that Rose is about to embark upon.  She needs this!  Ok, that’s all I’m going to say, well, except for this: READ IT!

What’s Next: A yet-to-be-named 4th and 5th installment slated to be out in 2009 and 2010, but when specifically, that’s what I want to know!  I guess we will all have to continually check Richelle Mead’s website to find out.

Other Reviews: From another V.A. fan, The Story Siren.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shadow Kiss: A Vampire Academy Novel

  1. i’m glad you liked it! and thanks for linking my review!

  2. Doret says:

    Have you read PC Cast series that begins with Marked? If so how does that compare to The Vampire Academy series? Or is it apples and oranges.

  3. bookworm4life says:

    I read the first book and skimmed the second book of the House of Night series. I was not a fan…here’s my review. I suppose they have similarities, specifically the school thing, and I do believe that readers who really like the Marked books will like Vampire Academy. They both have different takes on the vampire world–but then again, every vampire novel you read now-a-days has a different take.

    Vampire Academy is by far my favorite vampire series. I think the characters are believable and well-developed, especially the main character Rose. I like that while Rose is awesome and bad-ass she’s also flawed and not so super awesome that no one else can touch her or get the better of her.

    I hope that helps…I’m not really sure I answered the question.

  4. Doret says:

    Its enough for me to fake the funk. So yes you did, thanks. Have you read the ones by LJ Smith?

  5. bookworm4life says:

    Sorry for the delay of my reply. I read the most of the Night World series by L. J. Smith as a teenager and loved them. I have not read the Vampire Diaries or any of the other series. There have been posts over on the Ya Ya Yas blog about the Vampire Diaries series and it seems to be popular once again.

    The Night World has all kinds of supernatural creatures and there is a good side and a bad side — I believe Circle Daybreak vs. Night World. Every story has a soulmate story line so these will definitely appeal to romantics. Also, much like Rose in Vampire Academy, there are some pretty tough chicks in some of the stories. The ones with the tough chicks were my favorites…The Chosen, The Huntress…of course, they have been re-released with more than one book in each volume so you can’t really pick and choose which titles to buy. Here is my post with a synopsis of the series.

  6. Pingback: Top Picks of 2008 « Bookworm 4 Life

  7. dsuzuki says:

    I loved this series and I loved the Vampire Diaries when I first read them years ago. I’m looking at BookMooch to try and get copies again since I’m on a vampire kick lately.

  8. Amy says:

    Well i must say i totally agree with you
    I cryed, and cryed for a good hour atleast.
    All through the last chapters ny heart broke for her.
    But i musy admit after rose nd dimitri went for there walk alone
    I skiped nd read the last line,
    I couldnt believw it.
    I cryed so hard but continued to read.
    I couldnt believe how selfish lissa is
    Rose has done so much for her
    Makes me angery
    But i must say it was a remarkable story
    Cant wait till the next!

    • Casey says:

      I know! That walk in the woods makes it seem like Rose and Dmitri might actually have a chance together, then pow!, the ending takes it all away.

      I’m looking forward to seeing what Richelle Mead has up her sleeve for the next book!

    • Casey says:

      I know! That walk in the woods makes it seem like Rose and Dmitri might actually have a chance together, then pow!, the ending takes it all away.

      I’m looking forward to seeing what Richelle Mead has up her sleeve for the next book!

Leave a Reply

