The Adoration of Jenna Fox

First: Let’s revisit (from one of my earlier posts) this awesome book trailer…

Now, on to the review:

Adoration of Jenna Foxby Mary E. Pearson

Jenna was in a horrible accident and it has taken her a year to wake up.  Now that she is awake she can’t remember anything.  Her father, a doctor, says it will come back with time but she doesn’t even understand the word time.  How is it that she can recite whole books and every fact about a historical incident but she can’t remember ever having friends?  Something is horribly wrong, Jenna just hasn’t figured it out yet.

Reaction: This is a very hard book to review because I don’t want to give too much away.  What I can say is that The Adoration of Jenna Fox is a very well-written, thought-provoking book that just may make my favorites list for the year.  Jenna’s time is some point in the future, and while many things are different, many things stayed the same.  Pearson’s future world could be 5 years from now, 10 years, 100 years.  The characters and their problems are timeless but shaped by the advanced medical technologies and an over-use of genetic engineering.  Jenna’s central conflict involves her search to understand who she is and her place in the world.  She struggles against her parents’ smothering love and wonders at the choices they have made for her.  She longs for friendships, relationships but is not sure that she deserves them.  While Jenna deals with the issues all of us have faced at some point in time, her situation and what she has become because of the accident make her journey more difficult than any of us could imagine.

Quotes: Here are some of my favorite passages.  They are a bit spoilery.  Read at your own risk.

I sensed that Father thinks I should be impressed.  Maybe even grateful.  But what about my missing heart?  My liver?  I don’t want five hundred billion neural chips.  I want guts. (126)

“What about my soul, Father?  When you were so busy implanting all your neural chips, did you think about that?  Did you snip my soul from my old body, too?  Where did you put it?  Show me!  Where?  Where in all this groundbreaking technology did you insert my soul? (129)

Check it out: Mary E Pearson’s website.  My library’s TeenSpace webpage is quoted.  Woohoo.  Oh, and it’s going to be a movie.  I’ll be very interested to see that one!

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Adoration of Jenna Fox

  1. This book is fantastic! I cannot WAIT until we spotlight it at readergirlz in March :)

Leave a Reply

