Celebrities Writing Books. Ugh.

Lauren Conrad, of the reality show The Hills, has signed a three book deal with Harper Collins. When I first heard that she had signed a book deal I assumed it was to put her (oh so interesting) life story on paper, but no. She is writing a semi-autobiographical teen series about a girl who moves to Hollywood and is on a reality TV show. Supposedly it will be reminiscent of the Gossip Girls series. What I want to know is what is up with this trend of famous people writing stories? Don’t they have enough to do, enough other projects to conquer? Just because you’re famous does not mean you are a talented writer. I’m sure this is a shocking bit of information for many actors, actresses, and reality TV stars. While there may be celebrities who are talented writers, they can’t all be, can they??? Back to Lauren Conrad. She is not even famous for any talent but for her ability to have her life filmed (kind of because I’ve also heard its pretty scripted/re-shot/etc). Maybe she is a talented clothing designer, I don’t know, but a writer? I suppose I will hold back final judgment until I read her books, but no matter what in the back of my mind I know I am going to picture a team of toiling editors completely rewriting whatever she’s sent them.

Added 9/25: So Meg Cabot has made me feel better about the whole thing.  She writes in her blog that since publishers make so much money off of people like Lauren Conrad they will be able to support more talented but not necessarily popular authors who might otherwise never have been published.  I wish I had Meg’s ability to put such positive spin on negative situations.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

