The Demon Ororon (Volume 1)

by Hakase Mizuki

Chiaki notices Ororon alone and hurt on the street and offers to help him. What Chiaki doesn’t know is that Ororon is a demon, the King of Hell to be exact, and is fleeing from the many people (well, things I suppose) that are trying to kill him. For her kindness, Ororon offers to grant Chiaki one wish. Her wish is that Ororon stay with her forever. Chiaki is an orphan. Her parents disappeared when she was very young; she grew up with her grandfather who recently died; she is often approached by ghosts asking for help so rarely ventures outside and barely attends school; and her best friend’s family is moving away. In other words, Chiaki is very lonely and feels like everyone she loves leaves. Soon Chiaki, Ororon, and Ororon’s housekeeper have formed a small family, but Chiaki quickly learns that it is not so easy living with Ororon. Ororon is constantly plagued by demons and others trying to kill him, and Ororon has no qualms killing them in return. Chiaki’s nature is very gentle and she has a hard time with Ororon’s ease at taking another’s life. Is Chiaki truly ready to make a life with the demon Ororon?

Reaction: I don’t read a lot of Manga, so I’m not really sure how to properly review it. I can tell you that I liked the art. I am not an expert on Manga art and I’m not even sure what it is I liked about it, but I know that I’ve picked up Manga titles and put them right back down because I disliked the style of the art. So, that’s probably not helpful for a review, but there it is nonetheless. The story line is what got me to read the book. I was definitely interested in a love story between a demon from hell and a girl who is the half-breed daughter of the archangel Michael and a human (Chiaki is in denial about this so I didn’t mention it in the summary). I love the whole concept of good vs. evil but with blurred concepts of who is good and who is evil. For example, there are angels from heaven whose purpose it is to kill Ororon and Chiaki (because half-breeds are not supposed to be allowed to live). These are angels from heaven, therefore they should be good, but their purpose is to kill, which is wrong, so are they good or evil? What I really liked about this first volume is Chiaki’s genuine kindness but also her blindness regarding the realities of the world. She sees everything in black and white, and will need to grow up and change some of her views if she and Ororon are going to be together.

As with me and most Manga, there were things that went over my head. Take Gomi the cat, for instance. Gomi started out looking like a normal cat, and then all of the sudden there was a person with cat ears. Is this Gomi or someone else (a demon?) who has cat ears? I’m not sure, but it didn’t really detract from my enjoyment of the overall text.

What I am really happy about is that The Demon Ororon is only four volumes. I am not a fan for never ending Manga series. I like my stories to have a distinct beginning, middle, and end, and I think that’s one of the main reasons I don’t read more Manga. The unfortunate thing is that my library only carries volume one of the and I doubt they will be obtaining the other volumes since this is an older series, so I will more than likely have to purchase the other volumes. What’s good, though, is that the whole series has been complied into one book for only $13.99, which is a steal because otherwise each volume would cost $9.99. Guess what’s going on my Christmas list?

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

