Excited!!!

Yesterday I was in the mall, depressed because I couldn’t find a dress I liked for a reasonable price (when did dresses get so expensive!), so I went into a bookstore to cheer myself up.  Much to my surprise, there on the new book rack was Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I thought the original release date wasn’t until October!  I ended up buying a copy.  Usually I don’t buy books since that habit could get out of hand really fast and because I am very much in love with the library, but recently my library hasn’t been receiving titles that I have been interested in right away (why can’t they tailor their buying to what I’m most interested in :) ), so I decided it was worth the investment.  When I got home I checked on the other titles on my short list and noticed that Graceling by Kristin Cashore has also been released earlier than I expected.  Guess what’s next on my “to buy” list?  My mall trip turned out not to be a complete bust.  I bought a book that I’ve heard so many good things about and I did find a great dress, though I spent more than I was hoping to but I received several compliments throughout the evening when I wore it so I think it all evened out.  Yesterday was a good day!

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Excited!!!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Totally with you on the dress shopping, by the way. I never buy anything over $50 even if it’s for prom. Special occasions are only one day or night usually, anyway, so what’s the point? If you need a dress for something special, try looking at http://www.gatheringguide.com/ec/bridal_shops_dresses.html, that’s where I’ve had the most luck. Then spend the rest on books, you’ll remember those more in 10 years anyway! I haven’t read any Suzanne Collins yet. Should I give her a try?

  2. bookworm4life says:

    I will definitely have to try that site. Thanks for the suggestion. I agree that books are much more worthy use of money.

    Definitely read Hunger Games. It’s engrossing.

Leave a Reply

