Yowza

So I was reading through blogs that I haven’t visited in awhile and came across this post by Miss Erin.  Miss Erin went to her local Breaking Dawn release party and interviewed Twilight series fans.  What scared me (though honestly didn’t completely shock me) was the quote from Twilight fan Katrina who said, “The only difference between me and Bella is she’s not real, and I am.”  Also, Katrina refused to eat any food at the release party because, as a vampire, she did not need to eat food.  In my lifetime thus far there have been several books, book series, and movies that I have really loved, such as the movie 10 Things I Hate About You, to which I am still thoroughly devoted, but I have never come close to the level of connection/obsession as Katrina to Twilight.  I know that Katrina is one of many who have latched onto the Twilight characters in such a manner, incorporating these fictional people into themselves.  There have certainly been other series to garner similar kinds of devotion — Harry Potter, Star Wars, and Star Trek, just to name a few.  When I was in high school I new a girl who was obsessed with the movie Titanic.  I lost track of how many times she went to see it in the theater, though I’m pretty sure it was over 10.  She also wore a replica of the necklace from the movie; I believe she was still wearing it at graduation though I’m not 100% sure about that.  Is this kind of behavior healthy?  Is this just a part of growing up for some teens, becoming so attached to something outside the realm of their own reality?  To me, it’s one thing to pretend and have some fun and another entirely to claim to be Bella, almost to devote your life to a fictional world and fictional characters.  Granted, I am assuming a lot from a quote but it just got me thinking.  Maybe I don’t understand because it is not in my personality to become so attached.  Maybe I am overreacting.  Titanic girl from high school seems to have turned out all right, at least from my glimpse of her on Facebook.  While I am happy to see so many people so excited over reading, I hope that they can come to enjoy the experiences of their own lives as much as they seem to be enjoying the fictional world of Bella and Edward.

P.S. Rereading this post I realized that I am a huge supporter of cosplay but not of Katrina.  Is that hypocritical?  Are cosplay participants any different from Katrina?  Hmm.  More food for my thoughts.

About Casey

I am a librarian who loves all things reading, especially teen literature.
This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

