Monthly Archives: August 2008

Excited!!!

Yesterday I was in the mall, depressed because I couldn’t find a dress I liked for a reasonable price (when did dresses get so expensive!), so I went into a bookstore to cheer myself up.  Much to my surprise, there … Continue reading

Posted in Rant | 2 Comments

The Order of Odd-Fish

by James Kennedy Flamboyant, aging actress Lily Larouche returns from a 40-year absence to her ruby palace in the desert with no idea where she has been for the last 40 years and finds a baby in her washing machine … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Smart Move, Sell-Out, or Somewhere in Between

So the other day we were unpacking new books that had just come into our library and were commenting on how the new Hannah Montana novel was in hardback.  Usually those TV show spin-off books are small paperbacks, but not … Continue reading

Posted in Rant | Leave a comment

Read-a-like for Deanna Raybourn

For those, like me, who enjoyed Lady Julia Grey you will be happy to know that there is a series that is similar (eerily similar, I think).  Author Tasha Alexander has written three books about Lady Emily Bromley, check them … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Mini-Review | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Prom Dates from Hell

by Rosemary Clement-Moore Maggie Quinn does not do prom.  Sarcasm, yes; journalism, yes; prom, NO!  But strange things begin to happen after she turns down an invitation to prom from the school dork, Stanley Dozer, then immediately rescues him from … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews, Reviews - Teen | Tagged | Leave a comment

Yowza

So I was reading through blogs that I haven’t visited in awhile and came across this post by Miss Erin.  Miss Erin went to her local Breaking Dawn release party and interviewed Twilight series fans.  What scared me (though honestly … Continue reading

Posted in Rant | Leave a comment

Reading Rut

Ack!  I am having an awful time reading this month and it’s driving me crazy.  I want to read but nothing will keep my attention (well, almost nothing — I recently finished Prom Dates from Hell…post forthcoming — I am … Continue reading

Posted in Rant | Leave a comment